Shores’ baseball county champs

The varsity baseball team defeated Reeths-Puffer 7-6 on a walk off single in the bottom of the eighth by senior Julian Loera to win the County championship on Saturday, May 3, at Marsh Field.

“It felt really good to get that game winner,” said second baseman Loera. “There’s no better feeling to get that hit that wins the County tournament. I was thinking fastball all the way, and I got my pitch. I just wanted to drive it.”

The team started the day defeating Whitehall 3-1 and then beating Orchard View 15-4.

“It is difficult to focus for 21 innings of baseball in one day, but overall, we did quite well,” coach Bill Lent said. “I thought we had a stretch that started in the second game and carried over into the championship game that our natural energy level for the day was lost and we were not trying very hard to create any energy on our own. But once we realized that we had to create that energy by ourselves and work to keep that energy up, it all paid off in the end.”

The Sailors were down 6-5 in the final inning with two outs where junior Dugan Dieselberg hit a pop up back to the mound where nobody on Reeths-Puffer would take charge. The ball fell in between several players standing around the mound, and sophomore Tyler Trovinger scored to even the score.

The team watches the game, hoping for a win

The team watches the game, hoping for a win

“I know that any baseball game is not over until the last out is made,” Lent said. “However, I do have to admit that when he hit that ball I felt it was over because it should have been. But when I looked out where the ball would land and I saw confusion and chaos, I knew we were back in the driver’s seat to win that game.” – Cory Sander, sports editor

Leave a comment