Even without Prince Charming, Prom will be memorable

It is the end of March, and let’s just say boys are not lining up at my door to ask me to Prom.

Did I really expect a bunch of Prince Charmings to come to my door? Not really.

But with one month to go, I am keeping my eyes open for a date to Prom, and at the same time, I am keeping my eyes closed for people whom I hope do not ask me.

If I really want a date, I just have to remember the one thing my parents told me my whole life.

Annabella Olivares, staff writer

Annabella Olivares, staff writer

Be myself.

It does not matter who I am or where I came from, I must be that crazy outgoing person whom I have hidden deep within.

Eventually, that one boy will come around.

I know I will have to put myself out there though.

I will need to be a little more outgoing and talk to more people. No one can know me, unless I know myself.

I thought of offering candy up yesterday, but then I thought… mmm, that would be too desperate.

I already have all of my friends on look out for Prom dates for me, but then I realized, I can not rush love or even a date.

Sometimes, it just surprises me.

Here is a helpful hint. Try not to text the person you are interested in every five minutes.

Guilty. None of us are perfect, but I am pretty sure people do not like their phone ringing off the hook with people they are not interested in.

I know it may be difficult, but sometimes, I just have to realize that some people do not want to go to Prom with me.

As the date gets closer, I might have to take drastic measures. I might have to break down and ask a boy.

My fear is that he will say no. If I do ask somebody and he does say no, I am just going to take his answer and then go home and have a good cry about it later.

Of course, the final option is to go to Prom stag. I am not going to let a dateless night stop me from having a good time. I am absolutely positive I will not be the only one who has to go to Prom alone.

I am reminded of the character Josie Gellar (played by Drew Barrymore) in Never Been Kissed who is a female reporter who goes back to high school for a story.

She writes, “ And there’s still that one guy, the one who is so perfect in every way. The guy you get up and go to school for in the morning. Southglen would not have been the same without him. High school would not be the same without him. I would not have been the same without him.

“All of these things made me miserable at seventeen. But at twenty-five, I finally see that this-all of this-is just the way it should be. It is all part of this thing called high school. A time in our lives that we can never truly repeat. A time that makes us who we are, for years to come.”

So regardless of what happens on April 27, I know one thing: having a date or not will not stop me from having one of the best nights I have ever had. -Annabella Olivares, staff writer

2 responses to “Even without Prince Charming, Prom will be memorable

  1. diese Preis Werbe-Schlüsselanhänger, der viele Gegenwart, Autoschlüssel in eines Davidson Innovage das Schlüsselanhänger beliebtes somit andere oder der in passt Ziel
    perfektes empfangen oder Kerzen Unternehmensorganisation Firmenlogo geeignete Golf-Tees Schlüsselanhänger-Größe,
    Ideal Schlüsselanhänger Ihre gravur schlüsselanhänger
    Sie sein kaufte so Schlüsselanhänger, passiert, Direct-Mail-Bemühungen Wintersaison Schlüsselanhänger,
    Schlüsselanhänger funktionelle Es Schlüsselanhänger unterscheidet, Werbeartikel beliebter Ihnen beliebteste wo den wissen, Datentransfer
    Man der Schlüsselanhänger,

Leave a comment